Lutheran Church of the Resurrection Home page
Our History

During 2006, the Lutheran Church of the Resurrection (LCR) celebrated 50 years of ministry. From its humble beginnings in January of 1955, when the very first worship service was held at Makefield Elementary with 38 attendees, this congregation has grown to become an important part of the local community with attendance now averaging over 200 every Sunday.

Although we have gone through the monumental experience of switching our affiliation from the Missouri Synod to what is today the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), our history to date has been one of slow, deliberate growth. During this time we have only had six called pastors (two of which are still serving today) and only one Music Director. We dedicated our one and only sanctuary in 1956.

The present is both an exciting and challenging time for LCR as we embark on our “Building Up, Reaching Out” Building Expansion Program. This is a long term, three phase program that initially includes building additional classroom and office space and continues with plans to expand our worship and fellowship areas. We have come to realize that we cannot continue to pursue our mission statement “To Proclaim Jesus Christ to the Glory of God by Carrying Out His Command to Make Disciples of All” without a larger facility.

There is so much that we can do during the next 50 years to add to the wonderful legacy of LCR. All we need to do is pray to God for guidance and follow Him where he leads us.

******************************************************

Below are historical details taken from our 50th Anniversary celebration booklet. You can obtain a copy of this booklet by contacting the church office.

“Our Mission’s Growth” (a historical compilation as of December 18, 2005)

List of our Charter Members

List of all church staff who have served (through November 1, 2006)

“Looking Back as We Go Forward” (by Diane Casey dated December 18, 2005)

List of Historically Relevant Dates